Haruki Murakami – 1Q84 (Book 2) review

Dated started: 22 June 2016
Date ended: 29 June 2016

I am a relatively slow reader. I enjoy taking in the words in all pages unhurriedly, at my own pace. To complete a novel within a week can be considered my record time. This shows how engrossed I was into the story. My mind was constantly chanting “More, more, I need to know more” as I flipped through the pages.

The plot up till Book 2 was very well thought through; one of the best flowing plot from Murakami in my opinion. Book 2 in particular had already made its way up to the top of my list of favourites.

I would have thought Book 2 will have lesser twists and turns being the transition into the final book where two worlds break loose but I was so wrong. Following through Tengo and Aomame’s side of the story felt like chasing after a peculiar sea creature fifteen metres under the sea with unpredictable currents. Every time I get near the creature, there will be strange currents closing in from nowhere sweeping me away, deliberately keeping a distance between me and the creature.

It is the same as with Tengo and Aomame. By fate or by intervention of the Little People, they unconsciously fell into the world with two moons together. They had not met each other in twenty years, or had the luxury of feeling each other’s touch, but they were always spiritually connected by opposing the Little People.

For Aomame, it was to protect Tengo, and the only memory of Tengo which took away her loneliness in the twenty years she isolated her inner self. She took the life of Leader so that Tengo could live, knowing the action could very well mean the end of her own life. As long as Tengo can live on, the memory of Tengo will never fade away. Knowing that he is alive and has never forgotten her, the thought is comforting, and she is not lonely anymore.

I’m all alone, but I’m not lonely.

She told Tamaru over the phone.

I have grown attached to Aomame for all the sacrifices she is willing to make to preserve her feelings for Tengo, something intangible. She may be dead, but she knows she loves Tengo, and knowing that keeps her alive.

Tengo Kawana finally realised that he had no one, after losing the adulterous relationship with his married girlfriend. Following Fuka-Eri’s lead, he came to believe that the only person he may have ever loved was Aomame, through a memory of her when she was ten years old. His resolve to find Aomame, and to see Aomame again, deeply moved me.

Book 2 began the cat and mouse chase, of Aomame, Tengo, the Little People, and the air chrysalises. The chase is straining, heart rendering, evokes memories of childhood, puts the characters in despair, but regardless of all anguish, it illustrates how love conquers all.

I am three chapters into Book 3. I want Tengo and Aomame to finally meet each other, against all odds, and return to their own world of 1984, where only one moon hangs in the night sky. I’m keeping my fingers crossed for the two of them.

One thought on “Haruki Murakami – 1Q84 (Book 2) review

Leave a Reply

